23.3 C
Volta Region
Saturday, December 2, 2023

Dogboe Wins SWAG Sports Personality of the Year 2017

New IBO World Featherweight champion, Isaac Dogboe aka “Royal Storm” has been crowned the Sports Personality of the year 2017 and also adjudged the Professional boxer of the year at a night of glamour and entertainment at the 43rd MTN SWAG Awards ceremony.

The event which honoured Sportsmen and women for the excellent performance in their various sporting disciplines was held on Friday 5th May, 2018 at the Accra International Conference Centre.

The event was graced by many dignitaries like the Sports Minister Hon. Isaac Asiamah, Black Stars Coach James Kwasi Appiah and the Special Guest of honor and Dormahene, Osagyefo Oseadeeyo Agyeman Badu II, former Arsenal player Sefan Schwarz, and many others.

The event also saw the Asa band and Highlife sensation, Kwabena Kwabena who thrilled the audience with good music.

The following Sports personalities and contributors were also awarded on the night:

  1. Haruna Tahiru – Para Athlete of the year (Arm-wrestling)
  2. Alhassan Okine – Kick boxer of the year
  3. Anthony Boafo Danquah Boakye – Cyclist of the year
  4. Richard Amanor – Volleyball player of the year
  5. Grace Atipaka – Female Badminton player of the year
  6. Emmanuel Yaw Donkor – Male Badminton player
  7. Vincent Torgah – Golfer of the year
  8. Salia Nsabila – Hockey player of the year
  9. Christian Amoah – Weightlifter of the year
  10. George Bankole (Handball) – Dedication & Valour
  11. Ofori Asare (Boxing) – Dedication & Valour
  12. Suzzy Dede Teye (lady strikers/ black maidens) – Discovery of the year
  13. David Akwei (weightlifter) – Discovery of the year
  14. Isaac Nii Amugi (Arm-wrestler) – Discovery of the year
  15. Ampem Darkoa Ladies – Female team of the year
  16. Dr. Kojo Benjamin Taylor – Special Awards
  17. Alex Asante – Special Awards
  18. Dr KD Asante – Special Awards
  19. Dr Martin Engman – Special Awards
  20. Dr Paa Kwesi Odoum – Special Awards
  21. David Abanga – Most promising Star
  22. Herbert Mensah (rugby) – Association President of the year
  23. Yusif Abubakar (Aduana Stars) – Coach of the year
  24. Local Black Stars – National team of the year
  25. Princella Adubea (Ampem Darkoa) – Female Footballer of the year
  26. Thomas Abbey (Hearts of Oak) – Local male footballer of the year
  27. Thomas Partey – Foreig- based male footballer of the year
  28. Aduana Stars – Male club of the year

By: Yaw Ansa-Asare/voltaonlinegh.com

Volta Online
Volta Onlinehttps://voltaonlinegh.com
www.voltaonlinegh.com is an online portal or website that seeks to project the Volta region in the right way within the region, Ghana and the international community. The website’s main interest is to provide news and information on tourism, business and investment opportunities, personalities, entrepreneurship, sports and culture of the people. It also seeks to become the leader in branding the region appropriately by providing the right blend of video, audio, text, advertising, promotion and Public relations techniques. You can send stories, articles and contact us via mail; voltaonlinegh@gmail.com

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles