24.3 C
Volta Region
Thursday, December 7, 2023


Results from the ruling NDC’s parliamentary primaries in its world bank, the Volta region on Saturday have  claimed a number of losses and produced surprises.

For instance, in the Keta constituency the Propaganda Secretary of the National Democratic Congress, Richard Quashigah beat the incumbent MP Larsey Agbenyefia to win the slot to represent the party the 2012 elections.
Richard Quashiga had 95 votes whilst Agbenyefia Lassey managed 85 votes. Kwame Gakpe and Rocky polled 53 and 54 votes respectively.
In the Ho Central, incumbent Capt. George Kofi Nfojoh lost his seat having polled 52 votes. He was beaten in the Ho Central constituency by Mr Benjamin Komla Kpodo, finance officer of the University of Education, who had 270 votes. Fafa Adinyira had 104 votes, Steven Adom 17 votes and Kodzo Akpadi 15 votes.
In the North Tongu constituency, Deputy Information Minister, Okudzeto Ablakwa, polled 157 votes to wallop the incumbent MP Charles Hodogbey who got only 26 votes. Whereas at South Tongu, incumbent MP Korbla Mensah Woyome won with 328 votes as against his challenger Maxwel Lukutor who had 66 votes.
Edem Asiama also won the South Dayi primaries with 144 votes, followed by Dr. Kwame Ampofo who had 40 votes and Rockson Dafeamekpor with 20 votes.
At Hohoe South, Volta Regional Minister and incumbent MP Joseph Amenorwode won with 186 votes as against Angela Allo Tey who polled 102 votes.

Minister of Youth and Sports, Kofi Humado has been elected as the NDC’s candidate for the Anlo constituency. He polled 269 votes. His closest contender Gandi Mawuenyega polled 44 votes whilst Kafui Agbleze had 30 of the votes counted.

Also, Minister for Road and Highways Joe Gidisu polled 230 votes to retain the seat in the Central Tongu. His contender Alex Gabby Hottordze had 121 votes.
In the Akan constituency, also in the Volta Region, Gyapong Kudzo won the seat with 175 votes leaving his closest contender Joseph Ofori with 159 votes whilst the other challenger Edem had 21 votes.
Mr James Avedzi, MP for Ketu-North, also retained the NDC ticket with 247 votes beating Dr Stephen Ahiawordor, a lecturer, who polled 68 votes and Mr Kwaku Treme, a Mining consultant, who also got 6 votes. 
The MP for Krachi-East, Mr. Wisdom Gidisu, MP for Buem, Mr. Henry Kamel Ford, MP for Ho-West, Mr. Emmanuel Bedzrah, and the MP for Ave-Avenor and first deputy speaker of parliament, Mr. Doe Adjaho had popular acclamation.
Mr Adjaho has held the Ave-Avenor seat since 1992, making him one of the longest serving legislators in the country.
Elections in the Ketu south, Adaklu-Anyibe and Hohoe north constituencies have been suspended, due to the creation of new districts, and expectations that new constituencies would be created.
Meanwhile Madam Anita De-Sosoo National Women’s Organiser of the NDC told delegates after the declaration of results in Ho-Central that the orderly conduct of the elections and the results affirmed the victory for the NDC.
She therefore called on all party members in the constituency to gird their loins behind the winner to prosecute a vigorous campaign to claim more votes for the Party in the Presidential and Parliamentary elections in December
She acknowledged that Captain Nfodjo has achieved a lot for the Party in the constituency and should be accorded great respect among party members.
Captain Nfodjo and the other contenders pledged to support Mr Kpodo.
Mr Kpodo, on his part, said he shared his victory with his opponents and their supporters and called for collective action towards winning the December elections.
He promised to include his opponents in his campaign team and make resources available to keep the party active in the constituency for a resounding victory in December.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles