Volta Online
General News Others Politics

Ho Assembly finally elects new Presiding Member

BY: Vivian Dzoboku | Voltaonlinegh.com |

Members of the Ho Municipal Assembly have finally elected a new Presiding Member, after two failed attempts ten days ago.

The 43-member assembly in a 30-12 majority vote, on Monday, February 21, 2022, elected Mr. Mawunyo Agbe of the Ahoe-Duga electoral area as the Presiding Member for a 2-year tenure.
He won over the incumbent, Mr. Jonny Akpakli, whose 2-year tenure ended.

A total of 30 members out of the 43-member assembly, representing 66.67 percent, voted in his favour to obtain the two-thirds percent requirement, while Hon. Akpakli got 12 votes, representing 26.67 percent.

The poll was conducted by the Deputy Ho Municipal Electoral Officer , Mad. Bright Efua Oteng.

The PM-elect was later sworn in by the Municipal Magistrate, Mr. Kwesi Appiate Abaidoo.

In his acceptance speech, the Mr. Agbe thanked God and the assembly members for the confidence reposed in him and pledged to work with them closely, especially with his predecessor, who is an elected member of the assembly for the development of the municipality.

“We are blessed as an assembly because we have PMs in the house, and if I need any advice or guidance, I can freely walk to my predecessor,” he noted.

He further promised to continue with the unity in the house so that the Ho Municipal Assembly will become the beacon of development in the Volta Region.

The Municipal Chief Executive, Mr. Divine Bosson, who spoke prior to the voting, urged the assembly members to elect a Presiding Member on the day. Failure to do so will have dire financial implications on the assembly since they were now putting resources together to clear arrears owed members of the seventh assembly members.

Consequently, Mr. Augustus Awity, the Coordinating Director of the Assembly who presided over the election, thanked God for a successful election and promised to work with the elected PM and the MCE so Ho Municipal Assembly will become the torchbearer for other assemblies in the region.
“Now we can function as an assembly,” he indicated.

The election process started 10 days ago with two nominees. However, after two rounds of voting, both candidates failed to secure the required two-thirds majority vote of the 43-member assembly, which is stipulated in the Local Government ACT 936 of 2016 hence the need for the adjournment.

Source: www.voltaonlinegh.com

Related posts

Alban Bagbin Wins Election As Speaker of 8th Parliament

Volta Online

Sonrise Dares South Tongu Talents in Week 4 of VRHA League

Volta Online

We Shall Heal, Rescue And Uplift Individuals In Africa- EMS,ENA Boss Reveals

Volta Online

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: