24.6 C
Volta Region
Monday, February 26, 2024

NDC Primaries: Four MPs tumble, Seven new faces join ticket inVoltaregion.

Four incumbent members of parliament tumbled in the just ended parliamentary primaries of National Democratic Congress in the Volta region. 
They include. Hon. Joe Gidisu, MP for Central Tongu and former minister for roads and highways, who was beaten by Mr. Gabby Hotordze with almost 5000 votes in a three man contest. Hon. Gidisu polled 3,123 votes as against Mr. Hotordze’s  8,088 votes.
In the  North Dayi constituency, Hon. George Loh set the record as a one term MP, as he was toppled by a female aspirant, Joycelyn Tetteh, a student of the University of Cape Coast. She polled 3,037 votes as against Mr. Loh’s 2,207 votes.
Hon. Edem Asimah also suffered defeat in the South Dayi constituency, where he Lawyer  Rockson Defeamekpor, who polled 2,422 votes, as against Mr. Asimah’s 1,585 votes.
The 4th causality was the Incumbent MP for Biakoye, Hon. Emmanuel Bandua also lost to Nyanpon Aboagye.
In all, Seven new faces have made their way onto the NDC’s ticket for the 2016 general elections. They are include Charles Agbeve for Agortime/Ziope, and Angela Alorwu-Tay (DCE) for Afadjato South.
Below is the list of winners in the NDC primaries in Volta region.

1. Mr. Charles Agbeve – Agortime/Ziope (New)
2. Hon. Peter Nortsu – Akatsi North 
3. Hon. Kwame Agbodzah – Adaklu
4. Hon. (DCE)  Angela Alorwu-Tay – Afadjato South (New)
5. Hon. Bernice Adiku Heloo – Hohoe
6. Hon. Dela Sowah – Kpando
7. Hon. James Klutse Avedzi – Ketu North
8. Hon. Bernard Ahiafor – Akatsi South 
9. Hon. John Majisi – Krachi Nchumuru 
10. Rockson N. Defeamekpor – South Dayi (new)
11. Ms. Jocelyn Tetteh – North Dayi (new)
12. Hon. Kofi Humado – Anlo
13. Hon. Richard Quarshigah – Keta
14. Hon. Emmanuel Bedzrah – Ho West
15. Hon. Kobby Woyome – South Tongu
16. Mr. Gabby Hotordze – Central Tongu (new)
17. Hon. Helen Ntoso – Krachi West (unopposed)
18. Hon. Benjamin Kpodo – Ho Central (unopposed)
19. Hon. John Oti Bless – Nkwanta North (unopposed)
20. Hon. Wisdom Gidisu – Krachi  East 
21. Mr. Nyapon  Aboagye – Biakoye (new)
22. Mr. Abdul Aziz Muniru – Akan (New)
23. Hon. Daniel Ashiamah – Buem 
The NDC has however put on hold primaries  in the Ketu South, North Tongu and Nkwanta South constituencies.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles